Dog Licensing in Salt Lake City

Licensing your dog is required by law in Salt Lake City and surrounding areas. All dogs residing in the area must obtain the appropriate city or county license by 5 months of age, within 30 days of moving to the area, or within 30 days of adopting the dog. As a way of encouraging citizens to spay and neuter their animals, most cities offer cheaper licensing costs to those who have sterilized animals. While it many seem like bureaucracy, licensing your dog can offer many benefits.

Benefits of licensing:

  • Swift reunification if your dog is lost (See our lost dog resources HERE)
  • Access to restaurant patios in the city
  • Emergency care if your pet is found injured

Nearly all licensing can be done easily online nowadays and your physical license tag to display on your dog’s collar will be mailed to you shortly after. Be sure to collect the needed information on your dog before heading to the online portal.

Information needed for licensing:

  • Dog name, date of birth, breed, and color
  • Rabies certificate provided by your veterinarian
  • Proof of sterilization (if seeking to license your pet as sterilized)
  • Microchip number (optional)
  • Your contact information
  • Your driver’s license number

Failure to license your dog may result in a fine if you are caught by an animal control officer or involved in an animal control case. Salt Lake County Health also requires dog licensing tags for restaurant patios and thus you may find that you are denied entrance to patios if a city license is not visible on your dog’s collar. Find your city below to get licensed!

Salt Lake City

All licensing in Salt Lake City is administered by Salt Lake County Animal Services. They cover licensing for the following areas:

  • Salt Lake City
  • Bluffdale
  • Herriman
  • Holladay
  • Midvale
  • Millcreek
  • Murray
  • All Salt Lake County metro townships (Brighton, Copperton, County Islands, Emigration Canyon, Kearns, Magna & White City)

All dogs can be registered online HERE. Dogs who have not been fixed cost $40 per year, while spayed and neutered dogs will only set you back $15 per year. For more information on licensing within Salt Lake County, please visit their website.

A zoomed in picture on the neck of a golden retriever shows a shiny silver dog license tag

Licensing links for other cities and counties:

Cache County

Davis County



Park City/Summit County



South Jordan

South Ogden


Utah County- North (Alpine, American Fork, Cedar Fort, Cedar Hills, Eagle Mountain, Highland, Lehi, Lindon, Orem, Saratoga Springs, Vineyard)

Utah County- South (Elk Ridge, Mapleton, Payson, Provo, Salem, Santaquin, Spanish Fork, Springville, and Woodland Hills)

Weber County

West Jordan

West Valley City

Found a city not listed? Contact us so we can add it!

This post may contain affiliate links which result in Dog Friendly SLC making a small commission. By shopping products we recommend, you ensure that we can keep finding dog friendly places in Salt Lake City and Utah. We appreciate your support!